Alessio Zanelli: Two new poems

On Listening To A Piece By Bach


The Triple Concerto does not lie.
Beauty is truth.
Flute, violin, harpsichord, strings
and continuo I had heard before,
but genius was not there—
truth and lie I could not tell apart.
His was the faultless time–
Bach’s, not mine.
I now comprehend,
I now discern when the music is a liar.
Adagio ma non tanto e dolce.
And sweet is to suddenly realize
whatever truth at it,
to know my own mind for good.
The Triple Concerto does not lie.
Nor ever did Bach,
nor did Hofstadter
by his Gödel, Escher, Bach:
an Eternal Golden Braid.
Beauty is truth.
There is no other key.


The Puzzling Constellation


The Plow.

Seal of crueler times,
why do you still turn up
in your perfect, sharp simplicity?

Distant years.

Of wonder, of desire,
of expectation, of disillusion,
of slow-fading, never-forgotten sorrow.

Long-gone scrutinies.

Will you now be the omen of poorer emotions,
of weaker passions, of more diluted pain,
of an uninspired, inconsistent age?

The warning septet.

Never were any setting blacker, any stars neater,
any sign in the night sky more admonishing
than last night. What a calling night!

I wait in amazement as always.



*First published in Italian Americana (RI, USA)






 –Alessio Zanelli


Alessio Zanelli is an Italian poet who has long adopted English as his writing language and his work has appeared in over 100 literary magazines from 12 countries, including Aesthetica, Arabesques, California Quarterly, Chiron Review, Dream Catcher, Existere, Flaming Arrows, Italian Americana, Orbis, Other Poetry, Poesia, Potomac Review, Poetry Nottingham and Poetry Salzburg Review. He is the author of three collections, most recently Straight Astray, and a featured author in the 2006 edition of Poet’s Market.

Alessio’s Website


Copyright © 2008 Spinozablue and Alessio Zanelli.. All rights reserved.
Alessio Zanelli: Two new poems
Scroll to top